# Proceedings of Leyton Public Schools Cheyenne County School District #17-0003 Leyton Public Schools Board of Education Regular Meeting – June 12, 2024 7:00 AM

#### Call to Order

The regular June meeting of the Leyton Public School District Board of Education was called to order on June 12, 2024, at 7:00 A.M., in the Library of Leyton High School, Dalton, NE 69141. The Open Meetings Act is posted on the wall of the library. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the www.leytonwarriors.org website on or before Thursday, June 6, 2024.

# **Present Board Members:**

Benish: Present
Borges: Present
Ernest: Present
Rushman: Present
Schumacher: Present
Wiedeman: Present

There was no communication. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Benish to approve the agenda. Roll Call vote: Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Schumacher to recognize the Leyton students who participated in the South Platte Basketball fundraiser. Mrs. Haupt for her work sponsoring the students who went to New York City and Washington DC. Jonathan Kruse for his selection to the Panhandle Prep Basketball team, The MAC All Star Basketball team (he was MVP for the MAC), and his selection to the Western Nebraska All Star Football team. Trenton Rushman for his selection to the MAC All Star Basketball team and his selection to the Western Nebraska All Star Football team. Claire Watchorn and Trinity Beutler for their selection to the MAC All Star Basketball team. Zaili Benish for her 7<sup>th</sup> place finish at State Track in the 300 Hurdles, Riley Jones for her 6<sup>th</sup> place finish at State Track in the High Jump. Members of the New School Record 4x400 Relay Team who finished 6<sup>th</sup> at State Track, Macey Roelle, Shawnee Gamble, Claire Watchorn, and Zaili Benish. Roll Call vote: Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the minutes for the May 13, 2024, Regular Board Meeting. Roll Call vote: Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Schumacher to approve the Claims, Warrants, and Transfers. Roll Call vote: Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Ernest to approve the sale of the 2008 International School Bus through Purple Wave. Roll Call vote: Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Schumacher to approve the Annual Policy Updates from KSB with the exception of 3060, 5001, 5004, and 6040. Roll Call vote: Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the disposal of technology materials. Roll Call vote: Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Schumacher to approve an asbestos removal bid from Horsley in the amount of \$9,550 from Special Building Fund. Roll Call vote: Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Schumacher to approve the purchase of the Fume Dog welding hood extractors in the amount of \$28,290 from the Special Building Fund. Roll Call vote: Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Ernest to approve the purchase of the Fire Alarm system at the Elementary School in the amount of \$34,179 from the Depreciation Fund. Roll Call vote: Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Benish to approve the installation of the preschool playground in the amount of \$7,100. Roll Call vote: Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Ernest to approve the removal of playground equipment at the Elementary School. Roll Call vote: Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Schumacher to approve the purchase of Teaching Strategies using grant funds in the amount of \$17,719.60. Roll Call vote: Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Wiedeman to approve Rauner and Associates as the auditors for the 2023-2024 District audit. Roll Call vote: Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave

Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

## INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

- 1. Special Meeting Tuesday, July 2, 2024, at 7:30 AM for policies and handbook completion
- 2. Next Regular Meeting Thursday, July 11, 2024, at 7:00 AM

## ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to adjourn the meeting at 9:43am. Roll Call vote: Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Ryan Borges: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea. Yea: 6, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

APPROVED BY,

Respectfully submitted,

Suzy Ernest, Secretary

Matt McLaughlin,

Leyton Board of Education

Recording Secretary